Easter Bunny Ears Recipe

Yesterday I rediscovered my Jahreszeitenbuch because I wanted to find some Easterly recipe for Easter Sunday. I asked N (11yrs) if he would like to bake something and when his answer was yes I let him choose. He chose Easter Bunny Ears over Easter Bread (which I made today).

I wanted to give him a fun experience by doing everything on his own (plus then having the satisfaction of having something accomplished all on his own) but told him I’d be there if he needed assistance.

First step: Prepare your workspace

Step two: Gather your material and measure your ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups grated almonds

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 1/2 sticks of butter

about 1/2 cup almond slivers

N worked very diligently (he’s a very exact person when it come to numbers and facts). Out of personal interest (when I think of it or when I need it I add to my cookbooks the equivalent of the other measuring system) I set an additional tasks: convert the recipe from gramms to cups. This whole measuring concept was new to N so we both had fun experimenting with the kitchen scales and my little self made measuring cup. For the butter we used our calculation skills and visual judgement: We needed 280g, one pack is 250g, so we’d need one full pack and only 30g more. We had half a pack left, so it was a quarter of that what we needed.

Step three:

Quickly knead a shortcrust out of flour, grated almonds, sugar and butter. Chill for an hour.

Step four:

Clean. (I love it when the kitchen surface is cleaner after baking or cooking than it was before. So nobody would know what I did.)

After cleaning we had our little Easter egg hunt. N hid the Easter baskets for the younger kids. He said that next time we could do an Easter basket Treasure Hunt. P (26m) had fun at his first egg hunt ever, and T (9m) stole a chocolate egg from my pocket!

Step five:

N was not in the mood for any further steps at all. All the excitement was gone. I threatened to throw the dough away, E (8yrs) came in and asked if he could help. Surprisingly, now N wanted to do everything on his own again, but too late. Then P also came along and helped. T watched us and definitely also wanted to join the party so P went over to her and let her touch a little bit of dough. When she started moving it towards her mouth, we took it from her again, poor girl. so, here’s what you do:

Preheat the oven to medium heat. Place a baking parchment unto a baking sheet, grease it with butter. Form little balls, put them unto the baking sheet, put in two almond slivers each as ears (we used whole almonds which N divided into two halfs with a knife). I added a little smiley faces to each of the little bunnies wusing a skewer. Bake at medium heat until light yellow (we wondered what light yellow might mean and took them out when they looked right).

They taste really nice but crumble away easily (even more so when T tried them).

Happy Easter!Image

Kommentar verfassen

